Mr. Elmore's Music Lab

Issue # 5

New Vintage Guitar Day

This weekend I am headed to Alabama to visit my mom for a week. Like me, she is an avid music lover and creator. She really did an amazing job supporting me musically over the years. I still remember those special days when she would strum the guitar for my brother and I. Those songs will be etched in my memory forever.

She recently picked up a brand new Taylor 314 acoustic guitar and has fallen in love. This is great for me too, since she will be sending me back home with her 1975 Guild Acoustic. She told me she had a friend who needed money to buy a Fender or Gibson electric and sold the Guild to cover the cost. I guess that’s a win for me. I plan on featuring this guitar quite often on my YouTube channel.

1975 Guild Acoustic D50

Music Theory Corner

I am always trying to figure out how I can make the YouTube channel even better for you. One of the first things I have tackled is making you more customized chord charts and supplemental materials. They are in my own writing and a bit more crude, but I have gotten nothing but great feedback from everyone and I will keep trying to make them better and better.

Below is a video where I simplified the circle of fifths into more of a bite-size chunk. My hope is to keep helping you connect the dots. When we tackle these things together, we can all grow as better musicians. Link to the video below.

Not Another ‘New Guitar Day’…PRS SE DGT

I cannot believe how great these SE Guitars are. For the price, I think they are pretty much unbeatable. I am a Fender and Gibson guy through and through and used to be one of those that turned away from PRS, but no more. Not only do these play and sound amazing, but they are workhorse guitars too. I first got the PRS SE McCarty 594 and was so blown away by the quality, sound, and playability I knew that I had to get the DGT. You absolutely do not need to get the core models of these guitars unless you really want to. I could tour and play these guitars night after night. I will say, I have used the 594 in multiple band practices and it just performs. I can’t wait to put the DGT through the live band test, but I can say after playing it alone for a few hours, this guitar rocks. Pic below and I will definitely be dropping an overview of this glorious guitar on the channel.

PRS SE DGT Gold Top

Thank You For All Of the Support

The YouTube channel recently passed 5K in subs and continues to grow and grow because of people like you. In the end, my biggest passion is helping you become a better musician. I also love becoming a better player myself and I am just like you. If it sounds good to you, then it’s good. Keep going jellyfish. I love seeing your comments in the videos, so please keep them coming.