Mr. Elmore's Music Lab

Issue # 6

Hello, and thank you!

Hello everyone! I just wanted to kick of this issue by telling you all thank you for reading! Our newsletter subscriber count has almost tripled since the last issue. Thank you too for all of the support on the Youtube channel. I cannot believe how that has taken off recently and I hope to bring you really good content that values your time. I really love writing this newsletter for you, so let’s go!

G.A.S (gear acquisition syndrome is real)

Like many of you, I loaded up on gear during the pandemic. We were all locked down and buying gear faster than what we knew to do with ourselves. I especially loaded up on various guitar pedals. I bought more than what I know what do with and now I find myself at a crossroads.

I recently started playing in a 3 piece rock band and my pedal board has gotten so big, I don’t even know what to do anymore. I like to think back to my days in the 90’s, when I was touring in a band and my setup was simple. I had a few great pedals into a great amp. Gone are the days of lugging around a 4×12 cabinet and 100 watt head. Everything has gotten smaller in the world of amps, but why has my pedal board gotten bigger? I do have smaller board and I am seriously thinking of tearing the big board apart and revisiting the glory days of a smaller and more compact board. I think we all need to think about a less is more approach. Not only in our musical approach, but also our gear. Check out the picture below and you will understand.

The smaller board on the right just might become my main board. We shall see.

YAMAHA GUITARS ARE SO UNDERRATED

MY YAMAHA Red Label FGX5

I own a few great acoustics and I love them all. I have also been privileged to work on some amazing sessions in some of the best studios around. One of my favorite things to do was try out all of their acoustic guitars on hand. I’m talking vintage Martins and Gibsons. Just about every Taylor model you can think of and more. I own a vintage 1975 Guild D50 and a Martin my engineer and I purchased about 15 years ago for a session. They are both amazing and I will never part with them.

I do want to bring your attention to the guitar pictured above. This is my Yamaha Red Label FGX5 and it is one of the best acoustics I have ever played. I really want you to know about this guitar because it flies under the radar. If you look at the specs for this instrument you will quickly realize it should be double the price. I would have not known about this beauty unless it was for my awesome Sweetwater rep. He told me I had to hear this guitar and boy was he right. Not only the sound, but the way this thing plays and feels in your hand is just amazing. You will see it all over my YT channel and a day barely goes by that I don’t pull it off the wall to jam the night away. Do yourself a favor and definitely check this guitar out. The neck will fit into your hands like and old baseball glove.

GETTING 1% BETTER

When I think about getting better at guitar or anything for that matter, I try to think of the 1% rule. Connect the dots and get better 1% every time you play your instrument. I’m not talking about a broad stroke approach, but rather focusing on getting 1% better in a specific area. For example, I am working on major triads on the DGB stringset and flowing effortlessly between the triad shapes while keeping a solid rhythm. When I work on this, I want to feel like I have gotten at least 1% better in that area. I think this will also lead you to being more patient with your progress and enjoying the journey. Remember, music is a lifelong journey and we will never know it all. Try to enjoy the ride and most of all…have fun!

MUSIC THEORY MONDAYS COMING SOON

I’m going to start making a video series that comes out every or every other Monday at the same time. My goal is to help anyone that wants to build up their knowledge of theory and connect the dots of how to apply music theory in a real world playing situation. I will be using the Circle of Fifths as one of the main tools in this new video series. There will be a lot of random musical discussion as well. I included a picture of a C major triad in the 2nd inversion below. This triad also shows how the intervals are stacked when making this kind of triad. It’s gonna get nerdy up in here with the music theory, but my goal will always be to connect it to the real world. I want you to know how to use the theory in a musical context. By the time you are reading this…I will have made a video on this very chart, so be sure to check that out as well. Keep going jellyfish!

C major triad (2nd inversion)…or a “C513” as I like to call it.