Mr. Elmore's Music Lab

Issue #4

New Gear Day!

Using your gear in a live band situation is exponentially different than just using it in your bedroom. I’m sure I’m like many of you, I binge collected pedals during the pandemic like they were going out of style. It’s time to make them work for me.

I recently had a band rehearsal with my new alternative/rock band and it was a blast. My pedals, amp, and guitar sounded amazing in the room, but it definitely got me to thinking about how I would need to reconfigure my pedal board to make it work to cover the material we will be playing.

Major pedal rearranging to come! What will stay and what will go?

Below is my new Revv Shawn Tubbs Tilt Overdrive Guitar Effects Pedal.

 I love that this pedal has an overdrive and boost section. You can’t beat the simplicity of a tilt eq either. This will be in position number one and I cannot wait to see how it performs. Stay tuned for a video where I share some thoughts on this amazing pedal. Is your pedal board ever really finished? I think not, it just seems to be in a constant state of evolution. That’s what we do as musicians and why there will always be New Gear Days!

Stay tuned for a cool video on this amazing pedal!

I LOVED ALL MY GUITAR TEACHERS, BUT…

I play guitar a lot! I’m pretty lucky to have a career in music, so the guitar is pretty much streamlined into my daily routine. Over the years I have often had those light bulb moments where I see something right in front of my eyes that had been there for years. The first thought that pops into my heads is wondering why my guitar teachers never showed me that. On the other hand, I think it’s amazing that we can discover something new about music on a daily basis.

Music is deep! I love that no matter where you are in your journey, you will never stop learning. Just keep your ears and eyes open and you will be amazed at what you will encounter on your musical journey. If you haven’t seen my video about this very thing, it is linked below. That video did pretty well and I think it resonated with a lot people out in the world. Check it out and be sure to leave me a comment. I definitely be making more videos around this topic.

Music Theory Corner

Music Theory can be hard. But, it’s easier when you have someone to help show you the way. This is where I will come in for you and I hope to help you connect the dots. Just for fun, I have attached a picture to a poll I did recently about the very topic of music theory. It shows me I have a lot of planning for future videos on this very topic.

Seems like a lot of people are turned off to the idea of learning music theory.

Remember that music theory is nothing more than just knowledge to help you find your way around the musical universe. It’s also quite fascinating once you start to put it all together in way that works for you. Of course you don’t have to know theory to play or understand your instrument, but it sure is helpful. Stay tuned and I promise to bring you a lot of fun and interesting videos to help you out. A little bit each day will add up over time. Just be sure to embrace the journey. You got this!

From me, to you!

Our Youtube community and newsletter is growing fast! I wanted to give you a huge shoutout and thank you for subbing to this newsletter and checking out the Youtube channel. My biggest passion in life is helping you fall further in love with music. Our music community is amazing and I love having you be a part of it. Please reach out to me in my contact info. at any time if you have some great ideas for future videos. We just got our store linked to the channel, so if you are ever thinking about helping out the channel, there is some great merchandise in there with more to come. Have a great day, and remember: only you can stop you…so keep going!