Mr. Elmore's Music Lab

Issue #3

How Do You Feel About Your Guitar Playing?

I think at times we are our own worst critics. Learning how to master the guitar or any other instrument is hard. I recently did a poll on my Youtube channel and was quite surprised at the the results. I think it shows how we need to change our mindsets. Below is a screenshot of that poll.

Do you expect good things to happen to you?

I thought this question is indicative of how many of us feel defeated in life. 35 votes and 34% don’t expect good things to happen in their lives. Makes me more sad than anything knowing how many people don’t expect good things to come their way. I have my bad days like the rest of us. The most important part is how quickly we can move through these negative feelings. As for me, I have about 5 seconds to sit in pity, and that’s it! I hope you figure out a way to move through your bad moments and channel those feelings into productive music making. The guitar and creating music is everything for me! I don’t know where I would be without it.

TODAY’S MUSIC THEORY LESSON

You will hear me say the phrase, “connecting the dots” frequently on my Youtube channel and here in this newsletter. It’s really the only way to absorb and process all of the information we come across during our musical journey. Connecting the dots just means to take all of the lessons and information I teach you and connect it in a way that makes sense to you.

We all learn differently and that’s what makes it so much fun. Below is a little lesson I put together and I hope you are able to connect the dots. You might have seen it already, and thank you for watching. Whether you have seen it or not, the bigger point is to create some kind of system for yourself when you practice. Try to get 1% better every time you practice in that focus area. And don’t forget to grab those chord charts linked below! https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fo/wl1zmryrhy0w938x03661/h?rlkey=vw7hj66067uipp5e6a1fridej&dl=0

GEAR CORNER

I used to have a Boss Chorus pedal back in the day and loved it. Some bands have chorus sounds dripping all over their records. The Police, The Cure, Janes Addiction, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers all come to mind. If you want a really specific example, think of Come As You Are by Nirvana. That little guitar riff is dripping in beautiful chorus. It doesn’t matter which chorus pedal you choose, just get one that inspires you to create.

Chorus is an amazing effect to use on your clean sounds and create some killer vibes. It can be easily overused, so make sure that you use it sparingly and to create the most impact in your parts that you write.

Stay tuned for a video that highlights how I like to use chorus in the context of a mix or musical piece. I purposely bought a pedal that was dedicated to one sound only. I think these pedals always sound the best and will give you the best results.

At the end of the day, always trust your ears and create music that is fun to write and play.

Earthquaker Devices Sea Machine

Are Vintage Instruments Better? Let’s Find Out!

July 13, 2024 is a date I am really looking forward to. I will be flying to Alabama to visit my mom and enjoy some beach time and jam sessions. When I return home she will be sending me back with a 1975 Guild D50 Acoustic Guitar. She bought the guitar from a friend that wanted to fund the purchase of a Gibson or Martin guitar. Perhaps, the allure of a Gibson or Martin sounded more appealing to her friend, but a Guild is nothing to look down upon on.

The first thing I want to do is compare it to my 12 year old Martin and 2 year old Yamaha Red Label. I think it will be fun to create a simple acoustic song and use each in the arrangement and see what sounds best to all of our ears. We can put the vintage versus new instrument to the test. Pictured below are some shots of this old soul of a guitar. Stay tuned for some amazing video content documenting the Guild. Surprisingly, the guitar is in tremendous shape for a 49 year old instrument. Thanks, Mom!

Isn’t she lovely?

1975 Guild D50 Headstock